Long List Announced for the 2012 Orange Prize for Fiction

What is the Orange Prize?

Launched in 1996, the Orange Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing throughout the world. The winner receives a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze known as a ‘Bessie’, created by the artist Grizel Niven.

The long list for 2012 includes:

Island of Wings by Karin Altenberg
On the Floor by Aifric Campbell
The Grief of Others by Leah Hager Cohen
The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue
Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan
The Forgotten Waltz by AnneEnright                                                                                       The Flying Man by Roopa Farooki
Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon
Painter of Silence by Georgina Harding 
Gillespie and I by Jane Harris
The Translation of the Bones by Francesca Kay
The Blue Book by A.L. Kennedy
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller 
Foreign Bodies by Cynthia Ozick 
State of Wonder by Ann Patchett
There but for the by Ali Smith
The Pink Hotel by Anna Stothard
Tides of War by Stella Tillyard 
The Submission by Amy Waldman

Browse Previous Orange Prize Winners

List sourced from the (Orange Prize for Fiction website)


About HB Williams Memorial Library Staff

The HB Williams Memorial Library includes five community libraries and supports the multi-cultural community of Gisborne and the East Coast of New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Book Award Winners and Nominees. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s