Recommended Teen Reads: We Were Liars by E Lockheart

91cMHG1mVaL

Cadence is a member of the distinguished Sinclair family, whose wealth and privilege extend to owning a private island off Martha’s Vineyard where the family spend their summers. Cadence, her cousins Johnny and Mirren, and family friend Gat have a tight friendship and are called The Liars by the rest of the family.

This beautiful family are more than their surface and leading up to and though summer fifteen, Cadence’s father leaves the family, her Grandmother dies, and her Grandfather’s manipulative games begin to erode and then decimate the relationships between his three adult daughters.

Then Cadence is found to have suffered an accident that has left her with suspected traumatic brain injury, debilitating migraines, and amnesia around the circumstances of the event.

Summer seventeen, Cadence yearns for the company and comfort of the other liars, and to resolve the mystery of her accident; she fights to return to Beechwood Island where eventually the truth is revealed in a twist you will NOT see coming.

I hardly ever read books twice, and never within the space of two weeks, but this one I did, and every time I think about it, I want to read it again. (So basically it’s one of my all time favourites ever) It’s so well written that I truly never saw the twist ending coming. When it did, it wrenched me, and I’m not going to lie, there were tears and heart pangs.

Lockhart’s writing is so tight and so sublime, it’s digested, rather than read. I especially love the way she writes Cadence’s feelings. When her father leaves, Cadence/Lockhart describes it like this:

Then he pulled out a handgun and shot me in the chest. I was standing on the lawn and I fell. The bullet hole opened wide and my heart rolled out of my rib cage and down into a flower bed. Blood gushed rhythmically from my open wound,

then from my eyes,

my ears,

my mouth.

It tasted like salt and failure.

This title is in my top best ever books and on the second read I was able to appreciate Lockhart’s cleverness even more, while the ending tore me apart all over again.

Read (twice) by Raschel

Find We Were Liars in our catalogue here

About e lockheart:

e lockhart

e lockheart

E Lockheart is the pen name of Emily Jenkins.

She is known best for writing the Ruby Oliver quartet (which begins with The Boyfriend List), The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and We Were Liars.

Lockheart grew up in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and Seattle, Washington. After attending various drama schools and programmes, she graduated from Vassar and Columbia Universities with a doctorate in English Literature.

She currently lives in New York.

Also by E Lockhart:

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks

(Also a fantastic book, great feminist themes!)

About HB Williams Memorial Library Staff

The HB Williams Memorial Library includes five community libraries and supports the multi-cultural community of Gisborne and the East Coast of New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews: Teen Reads and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

